The World Federation One Stop Fiqh

Ruling 1871

Zakat is obligatory (wājib) on ten things:

  1. wheat;
  2. barley;
  3. dates;
  4. raisins;
  5. gold;
  6. silver;
  7. camels;
  8. cows;
  9. sheep [and goats];
  10. business goods, based on obligatory precaution (al‑iḥtiyāṭ al‑wājib).

If someone owns one of these ten things, then, given the conditions mentioned below, he must give the specified amount in one of the prescribed ways.