The World Federation One Stop Fiqh
Search
Menu

Ask an Alim

Permissibility of Balsamic Vinegar

Q:

Balsamic vinegar is sometimes referred to as wine vinegar.

I have searched high and low and cannot find a consensus on whether or not balsamic vinegar is permissible and under what processing conditions. It seems that it is a complicated topic–the more I search, the more confused and muddled the answer becomes.

Please help me clear this up as it is a unique product that I would like to resume using but must be absolutely confident that it is halal.

Jazakum Allahu Khairun.

A:

Alaykum Salaam

Vinegar is alcohol that undergoes a chemical change and loses its
alcoholic properties and is therefore halal

Wine vinegar including Balsamic is presented in two ways:

1) Wine that has been made into vinegar through chemical change (this is halal) and

2) wine is occasionally added to the final vinegar to add flavour (this is not halal)

You will need to check the process from the manufacturer if in doubt.

Kind regards

Abbas Jaffer