The World Federation One Stop Fiqh

Ask an Alim

medicine capsule from cow geletine


In australia, most of the capsule medicine are made of cow gelatine. Cow probably not slaughter halal way. Mostly important drugs such as antibiotic and inflamitary drugs, vitamine, are placed in these capsule shell. Can we muslim can take those drug capsule? What are the alternatives?


Salamun Alaykum

Thank you for your query.

If you are not certain about the capsules to be made from Haram, then it is permissible to use. But if you are certain that it is extracted from cows and cows are not slaughtered according to the Islamic Shariah, then it will be impermissible to use.

According to Ayatullah al-Udhma Sayyid Ali Sistany:

Question: What is your ruling on having foods that contain gelatin?

Answer: It is permissible to eat gelatin if one doubts whether it has been extracted from an animal or vegetable. But, if it is known that it was derived from an animal, then it is not permissible to eat without ascertaining that the animal was slaughtered according to sharí‘a. This prohibition applies, as a matter of obligatory precaution, even if it was extracted from animal bones.

Of course, if a chemical change occurs in the original ingredients during the process of manufacturing the gelatin, there is no problem at all in eating it. Similarly, even if one has doubt whether the animal was slaughtered Islamically or not, still there is no problem in adding the gelatin [made from that animal] to the food in such a minute amount that it is completely absorbed in it.

Question: Is it is permissible to consume a foodstuff that contains gelatin?

Answer: If you do not know whether the gelatin in the food comes from an animal or from vegetable, you can eat it.

May Allah(swt) grant you success


Syed Haider