The World Federation One Stop Fiqh
Search
Menu

Ask an Alim

Is Gelatin Haraam?

Q:

I am teaching out of a madressah syllabus that lists gelatin as a haram food ingrediant. I feel that it is not that simple and there are other properties of gelatin to be considered such as from animal, from vegetable from animal which has gone through chemical formation to which the original state has been altered.

Please confirm.

A:

Salaam Alaykum. Kindly refer to the below Q & A. 

Question: Gelatin is used in a number of drinks and food items in the West. We do not know that gelatin has been extracted from a vegetable or an animal source; and that if it is from an animal, is it from its bones or from the tissues around the bones; neither do we know if the animal was one that is halăl for us or harăm. Are we allowed to eat such gelatin?

Answer: It is permissible to eat if the doubt is whether it has been extracted from an animal or vegetable. But, if it is known that it was derived from an animal, then it is not permissible to eat without
ascertaining that the animal was slaughtered according to sharí‘a. This prohibition applies, as a matter of obligatory precaution, even if it was extracted from animal bones.
Of course, if a chemical change occurs in the original ingredients during the process of manufacturing the gelatin, there is no problem at all in eating it. Similarly, even if one has doubt whether the animal was slaughtered Islamically or not, still there is no problem in adding the gelatin [made from that animal] to the food in such a minute amount that it is completely absorbed in it. -(http://www.sistani.org/english/qa/01178/)

 For further clarification if required, please do not hesitate to contact us.

Ask An Alim Team