The World Federation One Stop Fiqh
Search
Menu

Ask an Alim

Chocolate Liquor

Q:

As-Salaam Alaykom,

May this email reach you in the best of health Eman.

Chocolate Liquor which is an ingredient in a chocolate Bar, is it Halal or Haraam to eat? Wikipedia describes Chocolate Liquor as going through a fragmented form.

A:

Alaykum Salaam.

It is Halal as Chocolate Liquor is Cocoa beans with their shells removed
that have been fermented, roasted and ground until they liquefy. 

This liquid is made up of cocoa butter and cocoa solids; both are naturally
present in the bean.

Laila Habib